I remember when Greg sat me down a few years ago and made me listen to the first track on Be and we both pretty much creamed our pants hearing the bassline and the synths leading into the track. That song is hands down one of my favorite songs ever, but Common and J Dilla’s work on Like Water For Chocolate is also excellent, so when I saw that this song had leaked, I was a little torn. This was apparently the original Dilla-produced intro to Be. It’s a great song and definitely hails back to the work the two had done previously, with a little bit harder sound than Be ended up having. I love Dilla’s scattershot drums and sirens, and Common spits well, but, in the end, I’m actually glad that the intro ended up being the track it was. Out of that context, this is an awesome song, and I’m still pretty excited about it.

Common – “Be (Original Version prod. J Dilla)”

