First of all, you may notice a new member on our blogroll. That would be the Carl Magazine, Carleton College’s arts and society magazine, where I am the music editor (when I’m not in China). We have a new blog, which, in addition to posting full issues, also contains quite a bit of bonus content. A lot of it is Carleton-specific, but you may just be able to catch some interesting arts reviews there. And if you can’t get enough of my writing, I’ll be contributing there.

Second, my friend Sam, whose musical snobbery in high school clued me into bands like My Bloody Valentine and Spiritualized, has recently formed a band called Two Planes (as in a flat surface). He just made a MySpace and put up some tracks, so you can check it out. It’s noisy shoegaze stuff along the lines of the bands I just mentioned. I don’t pretend to be objective when posting links to my friends’ bands, but this stuff is decent, so you should check it out.

Also, I’m going to be going on vacation for a week starting Friday, so I’ll try to cram in a few good updates before then, although I’m also studying for a huge midterm.

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

