…but it’s not quite getting a traditional release either. As this press release says,

The album exists in seven different packaging formats: CD, LP, T-shirt, tote bag, button set, paper lantern, and wall decal set. Each item in the Skeletal Lamping Collection includes both the digital album and its unique packaging of the album art.

Basically, you can buy a CD or LP if you want, but you can also just by a T-shirt, tote bag, or whatever and get a digital copy of the album with it.

This sounds like a fantastic idea to me, much better than the pay-your-own-price-online paradigm. I’m going to be honest–I don’t pay for a lot of music. But I can definitely see myself going out and paying for a digital copy of an album if it comes with a t-shirt. I hope this catches on.

(via Stereogum)

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

