And for good reason. He’s one of the most brilliant musicians of the last 50 years, and one of the best hip hop producers ever.

So I was happy to see this Dilla-produced track that leaked recently. “Sniper Elite” features MF DOOM rapping over Dilla’s beat “Anti-American Graffiti” off of the last album he released during his life, Donuts. DOOM sounds really good over the beat, but it’s a bit too much–“Anti-American Graffiti” stands as a great track on its own. If someone had to rap over it and make it more complicated to listen to, there were probably better choices than Daniel “My lyrics are insanely obtuse and I might have a speech impediment” Dumile.

Edit: You can buy the single here, via Stones Throw Records.

Download: “Sniper Elite” (via Nah Right. Please don’t start reading their blog instead of ours–I’m totally going to start getting more creative with these posts now that I’m getting settled into South Africa, I promise).

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

