T.I. revealed the cover of his forthcoming album Paper Trail, due out on September 9th, yesterday. It’s all artsy and stuff:

Paper Trail

It kind of reminds me of Bob Dylan’s Self Portrait. T.I. says, in an interview with MTV, “I wanted to try something a little more different. The illustration for Paper Trail pays an obvious homage to my rekindled affinity for writing my lyrics down as well as displays my commitment to keep my art slanted towards the abstract.” Considering how well writing down his lyrics has worked so far (see “No Matter What,” “What Up”), I’m glad that he’s making his lyrics central to his art, since T.I. is honestly pretty capable of rapping entirely on charisma. Hopefully we’ll get some painfully twisted personal insights delivered with a swagger that only T.I. can muster. I have a feeling, or really just a hope, that this album will be the actual artistic breakthrough that T.I. was trying for with T.I. vs. T.I.P. I think I’m projecting too much onto this album cover, so I’ll stop.

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

