This track is absolutely amazing. It’s a part of Mickey Factz’s The Leak series (#29), which I had, I guess embarrassingly, not heard about until today. After hearing this track, I will be paying attention in the future, though.

This track has exactly the sort of calm, soulful feel that a thoughtful track about Africa should have. While most of the Africans I know would probably be more satisfied with a 50 Cent track featuring Akon, for the American listener, this track is perfect. Lyrically, this is amazing, and, having had trouble with expressing my own thoughts about Africa, I’m impressed with the way that this sums it up so well:

“I met this girl from Mozambique/She so damn sweet, she so damn sweet/She told me she hates the stigmatism/The way they depict ’em like they the victim/Yes this kid’s starving, yes they live in huts/Yes there’s still problems, the government’s corrupt/But thank God that they freed Mandela/I ain’t think they would see that era/If Bush feels that he can’t stand terror/Then send troops to Africa and make the land better”

I’m not normally a big fan of political raps because they come off as conspiracy theory-heavy, but this isn’t quite political: it’s just the truth. And it’s easy to listen to. I could spin this all night long. Actually, I that’s what I’ve been doing. I also just realized that this is a fitting way to commemorate Greg’s first day in South Africa. So there you go. That’s what this is all about. But seriously, download this.

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

