Sorry about the lack of posting over the last couple days. It turns out that my sweet internet access hookup was anything but. Although I have to admit, I also realized that the last thing I want to be doing at Bonnaroo is sitting in front of a computer inside. So the new plan is to write more extensively about Bonnaroo after I get back.

For now, I can give you a brief summary. After a long wait to get in, we decided to see MGMT, Battles, and Vampire Weekend, who were all playing on the same stage in a row. I enjoyed MGMT a lot more than I did the first time I saw them, when they opened for Of Montreal in St. Louis last fall.

They have a really full sound, and they have that My Bloody Valentine effect of making you just stand there and be amazed by the sounds you’re hearing.

They also remind me of Spinal Tap, though. More on that in my later Bonnaroo coverage.

Battles was really awesome. Basically the drummer plays constantly, and everyone else in the band records loops and plays them back, sometimes adding effects. It’s really amazing, and you should really see them live even if you aren’t really into their album (like me).

Vampire Weekend was better than I expected, but not great. I really like their music, but they’re such a young band and they don’t really know how to put on a good live show. Some videos I’ve seen on YouTube were just bad. This performance was basically fine, just unexceptional.

Yesterday I saw an endless number of bands, namely: cornmeal, The Fiery Furnaces, Tegan & Sarah, Minus the Bear, Bluegrass Allstars (I’ll explain that one later), The Raconteurs, MIA, Chris Rock, Metallica, My Morning Jacket, and Tiesto.

Man, no wonder I was so tired at the end of the day.

MIA and The Raconteurs definitely were my favorite shows, with MIA easily at the top. The show was really energetic and loud. MIA is a great entertainer, and it helped that I knew every song. She even came out for an encore, where she finally left by doing “Paper Planes.” Of course, seeing “Paper Planes” live was ridiculous.

The Raconteurs were mostly awesome because I got to see Jack White. He is an amazing musician, and he’s easily the best rock star around right now.

Chris Rock was also a lot funnier than I expected. And Metallica put on an amazing show. It’s not the kind of thing I would sit down and listen to, but fuck Metallica haters. Because they’re the best in the world at what they do, for sure.

Today I saw the Soul Rebels Brass Band, The Wood Brothers (as in, the guy from Medeski, Martin & Wood, and his brother. Also John Medeski was there.), Little Feat, Gogol Bordello, BB King, and Levon Helm (from The Band).

BB King was amazing, definitely the best of the day so far. What an amazing musician. He’s also a funny guy, he told several funny stories while he was up there.

But what I’m really looking forward today is Kanye West. Literally my only goal for the day is to be energetic and near the front for the Kanye West show at 2:45 in the morning tonight. Everything else is just a bonus.

The reason why it’s so late is that they moved him to the main stage at the last minute so that he could do his full Glow in the Dark show.

To say that I’m excited about this show would be a huge understatement.

In summary: Bonnaroo has so far been awesome, and only promises to get better tonight when I’m in like the third row for the Louis Vuitton Don. I’ll write more when I get back, and I’ll hopefully get a chance to write tomorrow.

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

