Wale released a freestyle over the beat from “I Luv Your Girl” by The-Dream. My reaction after two listens: I love the way Wale uses rhythm. He creates a sense of structure by placing pauses at the ends of important phrases to mix up the rhythm, and it makes his rhyming really catchy to listen to.

It reminds me of “The Opening Title Sequence”, the first track on Wale’s Mixtape About Nothing. For most of the track, Wale uses a similar rhythmic structure and similar lyrics (“What’s the deal with ___?” That’s the other thing that’s great about this track, by the way–the Seinfeld references). But then at the end (at around 2:16), he suddenly switches up the lyrical and rhythmic structure. It hits really hard.

Also, in case you’re wondering if my blog is slowly becoming Wale’s unofficial blog: It is.

Wale — “I Really Love Ur Girl freestyle”

Oh, and on a related note, here’s Wale chilling with Lindsay Lohan.

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

