The Cool Kids — Jingling

Like the Cool Kids themselves,  I’m not entirely sure about this track. Most of their songs kind of sound the same; “Jingling” is in the same vein as “Gold and a Pager,” and “Mikey Rocks.” The minimal, chilled-out feel is refreshing and easy to knock your head to, but I feel like it’s getting a little old before they’ve even released their first EP.

If you don’t listen to the beat too closely, it’s really good. But it feels a little weird, mostly because of the stiff, perfectly sequenced drum hits. I wish they had recorded the beat on a drum machine so the rhythm would feel more organic. As it is, the beat sounds a little like a techno/dance beat. (The handclaps don’t help.)

The rapping is similarly awkward if you listen closely. The feel is perfect, and there are some clever rhymes and references. Superficially it sounds great. But if you pay attention, you’ll notice that some of the lyrics are actually horrible. Look at the first few lines of the track:

“They jingling baby/Like keys in my pocket when my hand’s in my pocket/looking for my wallet.”

I like the Cool Kids, but they still have a lot of room to improve. I hope they do.

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

