Lootpack was an underground hip hop trio from the 90s that’s probably best known as the first group Madlib was in. Madlib is an amazing underground producer who I’ll talk about in a second, but watch this video first.

Lootpack — Whenimondamic

(The music video actually includes two songs. “Whenimondamic” starts at 1:07.)

Did you notice during the second verse in the car, where the guy rapping takes both his hands off of the wheel and Madlib seamlessly takes the wheel from the passenger seat? (Go to 2:48.) I thought it was hilarious.

Anyway, Madlib is incredible. He’s had some sick releases as Quasimoto, he formed his own fictional band (in which he plays all of the instruments) called Yesterday’s New Quintet, he did a jazz remix album, etc.

I’m a big fan of this beat in particular. In fact, it was one of the first songs I listened to when I was getting into hip hop. Which is to say, it is on the soundtrack for Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 4.

I admit it: a skateboarding videogame is largely responsible for getting me into hip hop. But look at who’s on that soundtrack: Aes Rock, De La Soul, Gang Starr, Public Enemy… really good stuff.

Anyway, by far my favorite Madlib release is Madvillainy. I’m sure I’ll talk about the album in depth in a future post, because it’s my favorite alternative hip hop album of the 2000s. For now, check out these two tracks. Ridiculous.

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

